Board of Directors

The Board of EMV is primarily a volunteer governance and fundraising body, providing direction and leadership to management. The Board’s strength and effectiveness derive from its being well-informed about the financial, artistic, and organizational affairs of the Society; motivated in its support of the Society; and representative of EMV’s membership and audiences.

Tony Knox |President

Tony joined the Board in 2010; he is a lawyer specialising in corporate, mining, and aboriginal law. He has considerable experience with not-for-profit organizations.

Stuart Bowyer | Vice-President

Stuart joined the Board in 2013, he is currently finishing a Masters Degree at the University of Oxford. He was most recently General Manager, Western Region for American Express.

Spencer Corrigal | Treasurer

Spencer joined the Board in 2013. He is a chartered accountant who works as a manager at Wolrige Mahon LLP.

Fran Watters | Secretary

Fran joined the board in January 2014 and is an employment lawyer currently working for UBC.

Sharon Kahn|Past President

Sharon has been a Board member since 2008; she is a retired Professor Emeritus of Counselling Psychology at UBC, where she initiated the university’s equity and anti-discrimination programs as its first Associate Vice-President, Equity.

Chris Guzy | Board Member

Chris has been a Board member since 2006; he is Vice-President and Chief Technology Officer of Ballard Power Systems.

Tim Rendell | Board Member

Tim joined the Board in 2015. He brings over 35 years of experience in general management and financial management in both the for profit and not-for-profit sectors in BC and Alberta.

Ilia Korkh |Board Member

Ilia is an associate lawyer with EY Law LLP and a member of the Tax Law Services group. He is a Manager with the International Tax Services group at EY Canada. Ilia’s practice is primarily focused on outbound tax planning and tax aspects of operations for large Canadian corporations doing business around the globe. This includes planning and implementation of financing, holding, and acquisition structures, as well as day to day operations and supply chain management. Ilia is particularly interested in the mining sector, having worked with many clients in the industry, and having spent two summers working as a crew member for a mineral exploration company. Ilia’s interests also lie in the field of digital economy and in the technological advances shaping the future of cross-border business.

Sherrill E. Grace |Board Member

Sherrill Grace  joined the English Department at The University of British Columbia in 1977.  She was appointed to the rank of Full Professor in 1987, and she served as Associate Dean of Arts for 3 years, as a UBC Senator for 9 years, and Head of the Department of English at UBC from 1997 to 2002. Professor Grace’s teaching and research interests lie in the areas of 20th century Canadian Literature and Culture, Drama, Biography and Autobiography, and Interdisciplinary Studies in the 20th Century Literature, Art, Film, Theatre, and Music. She was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in January 2014.

Ingrid Söchting | Board Member

Ingrid (Ph.D, R. Psych) joined the Board in 2013. She is Director of the UBC Psychology Clinic and clinical associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry at UBC.

Vincent Tan | Board Member

Vincent joined the Board in 2015. His working career was largely with Ayala Land, Inc., a listed diversified property developer active in Asia, but with shareholders worldwide including Canada. He retired in April 2014 as Executive VP and was then elected to that company’s Board of Directors. His interest in early music dates from the mid-1970’s, when he played woodwind instruments including Krumhorn and Cornamuse with the Old Town Renaissance Consort in Chicago.

Melody Mason | Board Member

Melody Mason joined the board in April 2016. An economist and consultant who worked for many years with the World Bank, she has an MBA, an M.Sc in Development Economics, and a BSc in Sociology.

José Verstappen | Artistic Director Emeritus

A recipient of the Order of Canada, Early Music America's Howard Mayer Brown award for lifetime achievement in the field of early music, and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, José has been the driving force behind the success of Early Music Vancouver for over thirty years.  Under his leadership, Early Music Vancouver has gained international acclaim as the largest presenter of early music in Canada, and as one of the most active and innovative organizations in its field in North America.